(18 April 2018 – to date)

SUPERIOR COURTS ACT 10 OF 2013

(Gazette No. 36743, Notice No. 615 dated 12 August 2013. Commencement date: 23 August 2013 [Proc. No. R36, Gazette No. 36774]- with the exception of sections 29, 37 and 45 and Items No. 11 of Schedule 1 and No. 1.1 of Schedule 2)

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE AND CONSTITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENT

DETERMINATION OF AREAS UNDER THE JURISDICTION OF DIVISIONS OF THE HIGH COURT OF SOUTH AFRICA

Government Notice 30 in Government Gazette 39601 dated 15 January 2016. Commencement date: 25 January 2016.

As amended by:

Government Notice 480 in Government Gazette 41552 dated 29 March 2018. Commencement date: 18 April 2018.

I, Tshililo Michael Masutha, Minister of Justice and Correctional Services, acting under section 6(3)(a) and (c) of the Superior Courts Act, 2013 (Act No. 10 of 2013), hereby, after consultation with the Judicial Service Commission, with effect from 25 January 2016, -

- (a) establish Lephalale (Magistrate's Court) as a local seat of the Limpopo Division of the High Court of South Africa; and
- (b) determine the areas of jurisdiction of certain Divisions of the High Court of South Africa as reflected under each item in the Schedule.

Given under my hand at Pretoria on this the 13th day of January Two Thousand and Sixteen.

(Signed) TM MASUTHA MINISTER OF JUSTICE AND CORRECTIONAL SERVICES



SCHEDULE

ltem	Name of	Main Seat	Area under the jurisdiction of the Division	Local seat	Area of jurisdiction of the local seat
	Division				
1.	Limpopo	Polokwane	The following magisterial districts and sub-districts	Lephalale	The following magisterial districts and sub-
			within the Limpopo Province as described in terms of		districts: Bela -Bela, Lephalale (and
			section 2 of the Magistrates Courts Act, 1944 (Act No.		Phalala sub-district), Modimolle, and
			32 of 1944): Ba-Phalaborwa (and Namakgale and		Thabazimbi (and Northam sub-district).
			Lulekani sub districts), Blouberg, Elias Motsoaledi	Thohoyandou	The following magisterial districts: Giyani,
			(and Moutse sub-ditsrict [sic]), Letaba, Lepelle-		Makhado (and Dzanani, Hlanganani,
			Nkumpi, Makhuduthamaga (and Sekhukhune sub-		Thsilwavusiku and Tshitale sub-districts),
			district), Mogalakwena (and Mokopane sub-district),		Malamulele (and Tiyani and Vuwani sub-
			Molemole, Mookgophong, Polokwane (and		districts), Mutale, Musina, and Thulamela.
			Mankweng and Seshego sub-districts), Tubatse and		
			Tzaneen (and Lenyenye and Tzaneen sub-districts).		
2.	Gauteng	Pretoria	The following magisterial districts and sub-districts	Johannesburg	The local seat has concurrent jurisdiction
			within the Gauteng Province as described in terms of		with the main seat until such time that the
			section 2 of the Magistrates Courts Act, 1944 (Act No.		area of jurisdiction of the local seat is
			32 of 1944): Ekurhuleni Central (and Germiston sub-		determined in terms of section 6(3)(c) of the
			district), Ekurhuleni East (and Nigel sub-district),		Superior Courts Act, 2013 (Act No. 10 of
			Ekurhuleni North (and Boksburg and Tembisa sub-		2013).
			districts), Ekurhuleni South East (and Brakpan,		
			Daveyton and Tsakane sub-districts), Emfuleni (and		
			Sebokeng and Vereeniging sub-districts),		
			Johannesburg Central (and Soweto sub-district),		
			Johannesburg North (and Alexandra sub-district),		
			Johannesburg West, Lesedi, Merafong (and Fochville		

Page 3 of 4

ltem	Name of	Main Seat	Area under the jurisdiction of the Division	Local seat	Area of jurisdiction of the local seat
	Division				
			sub-district), Midvaal, Mogale City (and Kagiso sub-		
			district), Tshwane Central (and Atteridgeville and		
			Mamelodi sub-districts), Tshwane East (and		
			Bronkhorstspruit sub-district), Tshwane North (and		
			Soshanguve sub-district), Randfontein, and		
			Westonaria.		
			The following magisterial districts and sub-districts		
			within the Mpumalanga Province as described in		
			terms of section 2 of the Magistrates Courts Act, 1944		
			(Act No. 32 of 1944): Bushbuckridge (and Mhala sub-		
			district), Chief Albert Luthuli (and Carolina sub-		
			district), Dipaleseng, Dr JS Moroka (and Mbibana sub-		
			district), Dr Pixley Ka Isaka Seme (and Amersfoort		
			and Wakkerstroom sub-districts), Emalahleni (and		
			Kriel and Vosman sub-districts), Emakhazeni (and		
			Waterval Boyen sub-district), Govan Mbeki (and		
			Bethal and Secunda sub-districts), Lekwa, Mbombela		
			(and Nsikazi and White River sub-districts), Mkhondo		
			(and Amsterdam sub-district), Msukaligwa (and		
			Breyten sub-district), Nkomazi (and Komatipoort sub-		
			district), Steve Tshwete (and Hendrina sub-district),		
			Thaba Chweu (and Graskop and Sabie sub-districts),		
			Thembisile Hani (and KwaMhlanga sub-district),		
			Umjindi and Victor Khanye,		

ltem	Name of	Main Seat	Area under the jurisdiction of the Division	Local seat	Area of jurisdiction of the local seat
	Division				
			The following magisterial districts and sub-districts in		
			the North West Province; Madibeng (with the		
			exclusion of the Ga-Rankuwa sub-district) and Ventersdorp.		
Publ	isher's Note: G	N 480 of 2018 of	(Item 2 amended by GN 480 of 20) deletes areas not listed in Item 2 and leaves areas in North West Province		in Item 2 although it adds an Item 3 for North
3	North West	Mahikeng	The following magisterial districts and sub-districts	None	None
			within the North West Province as described in terms		
			of section 2 of the Magistrates Courts Act, 1944 (Act		
			No. 32 of 1944):		
			Ditsobotla (and Coligny and Itsoseng subdistricts),		
			Greater Taung (and Kgomotso sub-district), Kagisano		
			Molopo, Kgetlengrivier (and Swartruggens		
			subdistrict). Lekwa Teemane (and Christiana sub-		
			district), Mahikeng, Mamusa, Maquassie Hills,		
			Matlosana (and Orkney and Stillfontein sub-districts),		
			Moretele, Mosses Kotane (and Madikwe sub-district),		
			Naledi, Ramotshere Moiloa (and Zeerust and Groot		
			Marico sub-districts), Rustenburg (and Thlabane sub-		
			district), Tlokwe, Tswaing (and Atamelang and		
			Ottosdal sub-districts) and Ventersdorp.		
	1	l	(Item 3 added by GN 480 of 201	8)	1

Areas under the jurisdiction of the outstanding Divisions of the High Court will be determined gradually concomitant with the rationalisation process in the provinces concerned.