#### (1 September 2017 - to date)

## SUPERIOR COURTS ACT 10 OF 2013

(Gazette No. 36743, Notice No. 615 dated 12 August 2013. Commencement date: 23 August 2013 [Proc. No. R36, Gazette No. 36774]- with the exception of sections 29, 37 and 45 and Items No. 11 of Schedule 1 and No. 1.1 of Schedule 2)

# OFFICE OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE

# NOTICE FOR THE GAUTENG DIVISION OF THE HIGH COURT FUNCTIONING AS THE MPUMALANGA DIVISION OF THE HIGH COURT

Government Notice 956 in Government Gazette 41090 dated 1 September 2017. Commencement date: 1 September 2017, unless otherwise indicated.

By virtue of the powers vested in me in terms of section 7(1) of the Superior Courts Act, 2013 (Act 10 of 2013) I, Dunstan Mlambo, the Judge President of the Gauteng Divisions of the High Court, issue the attached notice in relation to the Gauteng Division of the High Court of South Africa, functioning as the Mpumalanga Division of the High Court of South Africa.

(Signed)

**Dunstan Mlambo** 

Judge President of the Gauteng Divisions of the High Court of South Africa



NOTICE 1 OF 2017 FOR THE GAUTENG DIVISION of the HIGH COURT of SOUTH AFRICA Functioning as THE MPUMALANGA DIVISION



#### Page 2 of 4

# OF THE HIGH COURT OF SOUTH AFRICA ISSUED BY JUDGE PRESIDENT MLAMBO IN TERMS OF SECTION 7(1) OF THE SUPERIOR COURT ACT NO 10 OF 2013

#### NOTICE

- 1. The jurisdictional boundaries of the Circuit Courts of the Mpumalanga Division are determined as follows
  - 1.1 The Mbombela Circuit Court shall have jurisdiction in respect of civil and criminal matters emanating in and from the Magisterial Districts mentioned in PART A of the attached Schedule.
  - 1.2 The Middelburg Circuit Court shall have jurisdiction in respect of civil and criminal matters emanating in and from the Magisterial Districts mentioned in PART B of the attached Schedule.
  - 1.3 The Mbombela Circuit shall have concurrent jurisdiction over all areas falling under the Emakhazeni (Belfast) Magisterial District.
  - 1.4 Judges presiding in criminal matters shall continue to sit as and when so directed by the Judge President in Mashishing (Graskop); Mzukaliqwa (Ermelo, Breyten); Thembisile Hani (Mkobola/Kwaggafontein); Victor Khanye (Delmas) and at any other Magistrates' Court determined by the Judge President as suitable and convenient for making justice accessible.
  - 1.5 The Gauteng Division of the High Court shall, with the coming into effect of this Notice, cease to have jurisdiction in any matters emanating and arising in and from the Magisterial Districts set out in Parts A and B respectively.

## 2. EFFECTIVE DATE

This Notice shall, unless otherwise specified, become effective from 1 SEPTEMBER 2017.

## 3. PARTICULARS OF THE OFFICE FOR ISSUE

The office of the Chief Registrar situated at Mbombela and Middelburg Magistrate Courts as follows-

MBOMBELA REGISTRAR NAMES: Mr Mpho Seloana OFFICE NO.: 1\7 1st floor TELEPHONE NO. 0137536222\0137563245 EMAIL ADDRESS: MSeloana @judiciary.org.za

#### **MIDDELBURG**



REGISTRAR NAMES: Ms Sisani Mdhluli OFFICE NO.: 1st floor Middelburg Magistrates Court Offices TELEPHONE NO.013 283 7579 EMAIL ADDRESS: ESefako @justice.gov.za

#### SCHEDULE

#### PART A - MBOMBELA AREAS OF JURISDICTION

| MAGISTERIAL DISTRICT     | SUBDISTRICTS                           | OTHER AREAS (SERVING ALSO<br>AS PERIODICAL COURTS FOR<br>THE DISTRICT COURTS |
|--------------------------|----------------------------------------|------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| Buschbuckridge           | Mhala (Thulamahashe                    | Acornhoek, Mkhuhlu, and Sekhukusa                                            |
| Mbombela(Nelspruit       | White River and Kabokweni<br>(Nzikazi) | Hazyview, Kanyamazane, Masoyí<br>Matsulu and Ngodwana                        |
| Mashishing (Lydenburg)   | Graskop and Sabie                      | Dientjie, Pilgrimsrest and<br>Maartenshoop                                   |
| Nkomazi (Tonga)          | Komatipoort                            | Malelane                                                                     |
| Mkhondo (Piet Retief)    | Amsterdam                              | Dirkiesdorp, Mahamba, and<br>Boschfontein                                    |
| Eersterhoek (Elukwatini) | Carolina                               | Emanzana (Badplaas), Mayflower                                               |
| Umjindini (Barberton)    |                                        | Louw's Creek                                                                 |

## PART B - (MIDDELBURG AREAS OF JURISDICTION)

| ITEM | MAGISTERIAL DISTRICT  | SUB-DISTRICTS           | OTHER AREAS (ALOS [sic] USED      |
|------|-----------------------|-------------------------|-----------------------------------|
|      |                       |                         | AS PERIODICAL COURTS FOR          |
|      |                       |                         | THE DISTRICT AND SUB-DISRICT      |
|      |                       |                         | [sic] COURTS)                     |
| 1.   | Middelburg            | Hendrina                | Blinkpan, Laersdrift and          |
| 2.   | Emalahleni (Witbank)  | Vosman, GaNala and      | Ogies                             |
| 3.   | Emakhazeni (Belfast)  | Emgwenya(Waterval-      | Entokozweni (Machadodorp)         |
|      |                       | Boven)                  | Dullstroom                        |
| 4.   | Govan Mbeki (Evander\ | Secunda                 | Leslie                            |
|      | Highveld Ridge)       |                         |                                   |
| 5.   | Lekwa (Standerton)    | -                       | Morgenzon, Val, Charl Cilliers    |
| 6.   | Mzukaliqwa (Ermelo)   | Breyten                 | Chrissiesmeer, Davel, Lothair and |
|      |                       |                         | Sheepmoor                         |
| 7.   | Dr P ka Isaka Seme    | Amersfoort Wakkerstroom | Perdekop                          |
|      | (Volksrust)           |                         |                                   |



| 8.  | Dipaleseng (Balfour)    | -                     | Nthowane (Greylingstad) and Thaba- |
|-----|-------------------------|-----------------------|------------------------------------|
|     |                         |                       | Kgwai (Grootvlei)                  |
| 9.  | Dr JS Moroka (Sigabuswa | Mbibana               | Marapyane                          |
|     | \Mdutjana)              | (Vaalbank/Elibangeni) |                                    |
| 10. | Thembisile Hani         | KwaMhlanga            | Verena                             |
|     | (Mkobola\Kwaggafontein) |                       |                                    |
| 11. | Victor Khanye (Delmas)  | -                     | Sundra                             |

(Signed)

Dunstan Mlambo

Judge President of the Gauteng Divisions of the High Court of South Africa

